Not a good morning. At all!


_MG_8499.jpg
OMG! You have stopped loving me!

When I wake up, I know something isn’t right. I have slept longer than usual and Pernod hasn’t protested. When I leave the room only Chatblis is waiting for me. Highly unusual. I make a quick round through the house. Nothing. Then, halfway the corridor, I stop dead at once. Pernod won’t be, no he can’t be…

I dash towards the patio doors and I see it right away: four white socks underneath a garden chair. My darling spent the whole night outside! I jerk open the door and the little guy starts moving. Impersonating an old chap he shuffles inside, straight to his blanket. The hairs of his poor little fur jacket stand up.

I immediately decide I won’t investigate the cause of this gi-gan-tic failure. My marriage means more to me than being right. But one member of the family won’t find freshly pressed orange juice next to his plate this morning, that’s for sure.

The Devon Rex breed isn’t suited to outdoor life. This particularly applies to Pernod. His Lordship barely has a fur coat. His Lordship is delicate. His Lordship sleeps under blankets. At the slightest breeze he gives up on outdoor activities. And now he has been outside all night, poor darling. At a temperature of about five degrees centigrade. It’s miracle he survived! Thank God for global climate change. The unmentionable member of the family shouldn’t count on his croissant either.

To my surprise Pernod isn’t ill, he’s just tired. On day one and day two he sleeps continuously. He barely emerges from underneath his blanket. It seems as if his ego also got hurt: he is very affectionate. Quiet and sweet. Does he think it was a punishment? Oh, the little heartbreaker!

My concerns disappear on day three. Only then Pernod feels truly warm again and acts like this bossy old self. He chases away Chatblis from her food and raises his voice to get some treats. Hallelujah. But he still doesn’t set foot on the patio. The mere sight of the open door is too much. One glance and he turns his back.

I completely understand.

  • Publication out of the book “Miauwkes’ by Veronique Puts. Like this story? Press the blue ‘follow’ button on the blog page and receive an email every time a new story is published.

Leave a Reply

